Legal Jobs/Internships During Undergrad Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
carsonmalbrough

New

Legal Jobs/Internships During Undergrad

Post by carsonmalbrough » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:25 am

Hey all,
I'm currently a junior at a small liberal arts college in California and wanted to know of any advice/tips about ways to break into the legal field during undergrad. I've previously interned in my Senator's office, did some community organizing this past summer, I'm currently doing a program with my school where I'm working as a field organizer for a gubernatorial campaign and I plan to study abroad next semester. In addition, I'm a staff writer for my school's newspaper, I've served on a committee that was a branch of our student government and lastly, I played two years of college football. All of my experience so far has been great and I'm grateful for it but I really want to do something that will better prepare me for a career as a lawyer and strengthen my law school application. If anyone has advice on some good internships or legal assistant jobs that they know of for undergrads, that would be really helpful. I previously applied for a couple internships in the DOJ this past summer but was not accepted for any. I'm not discouraged from applying again in the summer of 2017 (I plan on it) but I'd like to expand my horizons. For context, I'm considering business law or civil rights. Thanks in advance!

tk421991

Bronze

Re: Legal Jobs/Internships During Undergrad

Post by tk421991 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:39 am

Have you tried the local district attorney? I did an internship through my (then) state's Government Internship Program and they connected me to the Attorney General's office, since that state doesn't have DA's.

Working in a prosecutor's office will put you in a sort of medium sized law firm and you'll get to see how state employees work (that's a joke for you non-New Englanders).

carsonmalbrough

New