Scheduling Interviews Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
smile0751

Bronze

Scheduling Interviews

Post by smile0751 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:58 pm

Hi-

For those of you that have interviewed for law school admission, how much flexibility did you have to pick a time and date? Right now I work as a consultant and am traveling Mon-Thur every week, and I work or am with my team from like 8am-8/9pm regularly. I dont want my work to know I am interviewing for law schools and there are only so many doctors appointments one can have. I'm very nervous about finding a time to have an interview during the work week. Does anyone have any information or advice on how to handle this?

dabigchina

Gold

Re: Scheduling Interviews

Post by dabigchina » Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:51 am

Do you not have a senior consultant that you can confide in/cover for you. My situation is a little different because I am an accountant, but my managers and senior managers didn't seem to care if I needed to duck out for 30 mins for a phone interview. Most of the ones I like know I am applying to law school and are super supportive.

Why do u think they would be mad? If they knew? Aren't consulting positions 2 year stints anyway?

smile0751

Bronze

Post by smile0751 » Wed Sep 17, 2014 9:26 am

Well, I've told some of the people on the project, but I have a partner on my project who I wouldnt be pleased at all to find out. I'm at a smaller consulting firm, so the two year rule doesnt apply and most people stay longer. Since I'm gunning for a promotion this January (and the increased salary to help increase my savings for law school), I really dont want to burn any bridges.

I guess what I'm asking is, once you find out about the interview, how much time and flexibility do you receive in picking a time and date?

Also, these what other schools besides the ones below typically require interviews?

-Harvard
-Northwestern
-UVA
-UChicago
-Georgetown
-Vanderbilt