Old "should I re-take" dilemma Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
EllenThev

New

Old "should I re-take" dilemma

Post by EllenThev » Mon May 06, 2013 11:43 pm

I'm an international student (south america), but I transferred to a good American university to, among other reasons, complete my bachelor's degree with a comparable GPA and apply for law school here. I am graduating this summer, but I did not know that would be possible (I'm taking a course overload) until past the december LSAT date and thus my applications were delayed and honestly I could not properly prepare for the test. Although I have a 3.97 GPA, I got a disappointing 155 LSAT, and got into top 25 universities but I really wanted a T14 choice (for the national/international reach)... I wonder if anyone could give me some advice: should I re-take the test in June and see if I can improve (in less than a month)? or take the year off to study and send early applications? My fear is "wasting" 1 year if that is really the best I can do in the exam...

Any help is very much appreciated... thank you! :)

Tekrul

Bronze

Re: Old "should I re-take" dilemma

Post by Tekrul » Mon May 06, 2013 11:45 pm

Unfortunately, this thread is now at the bottom of the board and will soon forever be lost beneath the sands of page 2 ad infinitum. I hope you take a look.

http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 2&t=208084

Pneumonia

Gold

Post by Pneumonia » Tue May 07, 2013 9:05 am

you should definitely retake. idk if you are ESL but there are some good threads on here that might help with that if that is your issue. 3.97 indicates potential for big gains if you prepare properly.

sinfiery

Gold

Post by sinfiery » Tue May 07, 2013 10:07 am

Take a year off and study. It usually takes more than one month to learn this test. You have so much room for improvement in your results, it would absolutely be terrible for you not to pursue to the full extent of your ability this retake.