JD/MBA Applicant.. work experience question Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Cereal_Entrepreneur

New

JD/MBA Applicant.. work experience question

Post by Cereal_Entrepreneur » Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:36 am

I am in the process of applying to LS this fall, and am considering a last minute MBA application to schools with a JD/MBA program. I'm specifically looking at WUSTL, BU, and BC. My undergraduate GPA was ~3.0, but it was at two institutions.. a 2.2 at the first one (~45 hours) and a 3.6 at the degree granting school. B.A. in International Business. I graduated in May, and am applying for next fall (taking 1 year off) I'm hitting consistent 166-168 on practice LSAT.

The reason I'm looking at the JD/MBA program is I don't see myself being a career attorney. I started a business during undergraduate that has rapidly grown, and I see myself continuing that post LS in more of background role for side income. I have always been an entrepreneur at heart, and I see myself starting additional companies in the future or getting into venture capital, etc. I'm going to law school because I want the legal education/background, and I also see myself doing some work as an attorney, perhaps full time for a couple of years post graduation, then part time afterwards.

I would probably just do the MBA right now and pursue a JD later on, but I don't think I have enough work experience for most MBA programs right now. Furthermore.. I have been doing LSAT prep for the past 2 months, NOT GMAT prep.