Rising Junior Looking for Advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pieinthesky

New

Rising Junior Looking for Advice

Post by pieinthesky » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:51 pm

Dear TLS,

I'm a rising junior in major public university ranked around 60-80. I'm majoring in Economics and Math. Currently my GPA is 3.95. I pretty much spend most of my spare time on homework and studying, so I'm hoping my GPA does not slide. I am an honors student as well and will be doing an honors thesis. I'm going to start studying for the LSAT beginning in the fall and plan to take it in June so I can do a retake. I generally test well, so I anticipate I will do fairly well. I've taken one practice exam just to see how I do and I got a 162.

I have a problem though. Currently I am thirty. I'm wondering if this will hurt my application. On the plus side, I have 5+ years of work experience as a paralegal in civil litigation (midsized firm). While I did a great job there was nowhere to rise above that without a college degree, so I went to school.

I can get fantastic LORs from a few partners who went to T14 schools. I can also get LORs from professors who got their PhDs at T14 schools, but they are not JDs.

I'm aiming for T14 or bust. I can't afford to risk the loans if they don't come with a 50%+ chance of getting a job that can pay them back.

Do you think my age will hold me back if I keep my GPA and get 170+ on the LSAT? What types of internships would make me look more attractive in the eyes of adcoms? I'm basically trying to figure out if I should continue to aim at law, or whether I should shift my courses a bit to give me a better chance of getting a job after I graduate and see if I can get a business degree.

I appreciate the help.

Veyron

Gold

Re: Rising Junior Looking for Advice

Post by Veyron » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:55 pm

pieinthesky wrote:Dear TLS,