How many law schools should I apply to? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mynjb26

New

How many law schools should I apply to?

Post by mynjb26 » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:52 pm

Happy Wednesday all!!

I have been mulling over this for the past two months. It seems as though my list of schools has grown from a mere 33 to 60 schools!! Today I did some cleaning up and managed to get the list back down to 32 schools across the United States. Every part of me wants to go for it and apply to all, however, I am not sure whether LSAC will find this abundance of choices a bit erratic. Does anyone know the ideal number of schools that I can apply to without looking so indecisive?

Thanks a bunch...

whymeohgodno

Gold

Re: How many law schools should I apply to?

Post by whymeohgodno » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:53 pm

32? Unless you're a splitter I really don't think you need to apply to that many.

mynjb26

New

Post by mynjb26 » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:02 pm

Point taken! This is such a daunting process. Nervousness has taken way...I'm going to do my best to narrow it down to 15.

Thanks!!
whymeohgodno wrote:32? Unless you're a splitter I really don't think you need to apply to that many.

mountaintime

Bronze

Post by mountaintime » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:04 pm

whymeohgodno wrote:32? Unless you're a splitter I really don't think you need to apply to that many.
I'm a total splitter, and I only applied to 10 schools. Apply to a handful each of reaches, targets, and safeties. I cannot imagine a good reason to apply to more than about 15 schools.

mountaintime

Bronze

Post by mountaintime » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:07 pm

mynjb26 wrote:Point taken! This is such a daunting process. Nervousness has taken way...I'm going to do my best to narrow it down to 15.

Thanks!!