I need help on my LOCI Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Jason321123

New

I need help on my LOCI

Post by Jason321123 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:55 am

I am not trying to be arrogant but I desperately need some advice as to what I should be putting in my LOIC for the waitlist decision at the University of Texas, Austin. (I have a 164 and a 3.72 as my scores) I also have a couple of considerable softs, such as working in Korea teaching underprivileged children English for a year, a legal internship helping in cases human trafficking, and decent work experience (about 3 years). I am also a Texas resident.

Anyways, I was wondering if it would be over the top or outrageous to state that I could and would put down the FULL first year tuition if given an opportunity to. This is one of the top schools of my choice if not the top choice for various reasons aside from the school's ranking. Location is one of the significant reasons as I have obligations with my family businesses which reside in state. Also, the likelihood of me practicing in state is VERY high. I have been blessed with a relatively strong financial situation and would be able to pay the tuition in full for the first year given the opportunity. I cannot think of a more definite expression of sincerity to go to this school, especially in this economy. (I apologize if I've offended anyone or seem callous.) I could definitely use any help or advice on this issue. I really want to go to this school and if this will help me or even remotely give me an advantage, I would take it.

Sangiovese

Bronze

Re: I need help on my LOCI

Post by Sangiovese » Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:01 pm

I don't think I would state, "I'll write a check right now" as my expression of interest. It just smells too much of.... used car dealership negotiation tactics.