Getting current boss to write rec? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
thekingiv

New

Getting current boss to write rec?

Post by thekingiv » Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:56 pm

I just began to fill out the LOR form on LSAC.org (is this the right place to do the LOR's?).

I graduated in 2008 from college and am now the Director of Fundraising at a non-profit. After working in this industry, I've decided I'd like to move on to other things eventually, thus the desire for law school. Is it "unprofessional" to ask my current boss (CEO) to write me a rec for law schools? I do not want to be offensive in any way. She is a big fan of me and I'm sure would say great things.

2 LOR's are necessary, correct? If I do it through LSAC, will they be sent out to the law schools I apply to?

tesoro

Bronze

Re: Getting current boss to write rec?

Post by tesoro » Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:00 pm

thekingiv wrote:I just began to fill out the LOR form on LSAC.org (is this the right place to do the LOR's?).

I graduated in 2008 from college and am now the Director of Fundraising at a non-profit. After working in this industry, I've decided I'd like to move on to other things eventually, thus the desire for law school. Is it "unprofessional" to ask my current boss (CEO) to write me a rec for law schools? I do not want to be offensive in any way. She is a big fan of me and I'm sure would say great things.

2 LOR's are necessary, correct? If I do it through LSAC, will they be sent out to the law schools I apply to?
I think that it depends on your relationship with your boss, and the nature of the business. There is high turnover at my office, and as such my boss happily wrote one for me because it isn't out of the norm for employees to go off to school. So my thought is that you're going to have to gauge her reaction on your own.

# of LORs vary by school - check their websites. LSAC will allow you to select which LORs to send to which schools.

Joan Hollaway

Silver