1st Draft PS - Please rip it apart, be ruthless. Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
wwUSMC84

New

1st Draft PS - Please rip it apart, be ruthless.

Post by wwUSMC84 » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:00 pm

I am a Marine. To be more specific, I am a Marine Officer. I never would have imagined that I would actually end up here. I owe my life to my decision to join the Marine Corps. After all, obese young men don’t become Marine Officers.

In 2005, I was 21 year old college junior at the University of XXXX studying for an anticipated career in the film industry. The combination of long hours studying, tendencies to stress eat, and a lack of exercise compounded quickly. I gained 150 pounds in my first two years of college. A yearly physical with my family doctor had reveled the warning signs of diabetes and I knew that I had to change my life. I knew that a simple desire to lose weight would fail, as it often had before. I needed to take a radical step.

Raised in a family where all but one male in three generations on my father’s side of the family has served in the military, I had been regaled with stories of military life since birth. I had always admired the way that service to others was more important than personal gain in the military. I knew that if I were in the military I would be responsible for remaining physically fit, not only to myself, but also to my comrades. Additionally, the reasons that I had chosen film were clashing with what I truly valued. I had been ensnared by the prospect of making a lot of money, no matter how remote the possibilities of it actually coming to fruition. I had lost sight of what I believed in, and although monetary stability would be nice; the feeling of affecting the world is what I truly wanted. I decided, like many other young Americans, to seek a new direction for my life at the recruiting office.