PS topic Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
sarahlawg

Silver

PS topic

Post by sarahlawg » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:55 am

Hi, let me start of with my stats:
GPA: 3.8 (undergrad in psychology)
LSAT: 163 (retaking in 2 weeks - average on PTs 169)
I will be applying to Boston U, Georgetown, George Washington, Boston C, and some other schools.
softs: I am in Teach for America teaching preschool; I work for TfA as a learning team leader leading fellow teachers in their professional development; I have been working 2 and 3 jobs at a time since I was 15, but had some psychology relevant work experience in college; some club memberships.. nothing amazing.

I feel like I have a lot of experiences I could write about, but just not sure which one is appropriate. Here are some ideas:

1) the death of my father last year. He had a short-lived battle with cirrhosis of the liver, and died at 56. I was the power of attorney in his life who ordered him to be taken off life support. I would talk about why my dad chose me for this, and how despite this tragedy, I have persevered with my students/in life for the last year.
2) my study abroad experience to Italy and traveling by myself, being far from home, and without the ability to speak Italian. Also about how I raised money in order to go.
3) my experience in Teach for America and how I have grown working with impoverish, mostly Hispanic families, as well as the strides I made with my students last year.
4) my childhood. I grew up lower-middle class, my parents got divorced and my mom lost her job (who I was living with) for a couple years (food stamps, Catholic Charities, the whole bit), my sister was in and out of mental hospitals, and I was in a bad car accident when I was 15, resulting in some physical and a lot mental (attitude) changes.
5) My relationship with my mother and how it has evolved over time. She has mental issues herself, is an alcoholic and was a heavy drug users most of my life.