Criminal past disclosure Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
NinjaWalrus

New

Criminal past disclosure

Post by NinjaWalrus » Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:00 pm

Just looking for some advice on my disclosure statement. This is a super rough draft, all critiques are welcome. My main goal is to ensure I disclose everything. I don't want anything coming back to haunt me.

On July 4, 2006 I was arrested for DUI while returning from a party at a nearby lake. I have no excuse for this lapse of judgment. I was arrested again for DUI on September 16, 2006 while riding a four wheeler on a golf course. I was also cited for destruction of private property and vandalism. After these two incidents I knew it was time to turn my life around. I began searching and one night I found the way, religion. I became very active in my local church after completion of my probation. I completed my degree in the fall of 2007 and everything was going great. During the summer of 2008 I was the driving a van on the way to church camp. I dropped my cigarette, and while trying to retrieve it, I hit the back of another church van. The police arrived shortly after to work the accident. Upon further investigation they detected the odor of marijuana on me and in the van. I tried to explain that one of the campers, Tommy Freed, tricked me by telling me it was a cigarette. The police stated that Tommy being only 12 and me being 24 I was responsible. I was placed under arrest and subjected to further tests. It was later discovered that I had a Blood Alcohol Content of .24. I had only had a couple of beers and a bourbon and coke that day, so I knew the test was flawed. I hired a lawyer and was eventually released on bond. I was super pissed at Tommy for not accepting blame, and putting me in the position of getting a third DUI, which is a felony in my state. I left several messages on Tommy’s voicemail the night I was released. I later learned from my attorney that leaving threatening me