Simple Advice for a Penn Matriculant? [FINANCIAL AID!!!!!!] Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
0heL

New

Simple Advice for a Penn Matriculant? [FINANCIAL AID!!!!!!]

Post by 0heL » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:21 pm

Hey guys, so I've been looking over all the TLS resources for financial aid, but I just wanted to ask all you financial aid wizards for advice. Please remember I am new to this whole process, and have always been bad with finance.

Here are the details:

1) Grandparents are giving me 90k for law school (for which I am EXTREMELY lucky and grateful) - probably in three installments
2) I have been paying off my undergrad debts on time, and there's only about 12k left
3) Got into Penn under ED conditions - in other words, no scholarships

Assuming I'm not going to receive any need-based financial aid, what should I do? Do you guys advise me to take private loans? Or should I just do run-of-the-mill GradPlus loans? Is there anything special or particular about how I should formulate my financial aid package (because of my grandparents' help)?

And whats the best way to ask Penn for scholarship money - even though there is a 99.9999% chance they won't give any?

Thanks in advance!

Nelson

Gold

Re: Simple Advice for a Penn Matriculant? [FINANCIAL AID!!!!!!]

Post by Nelson » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:47 pm

How old is your undergrad debt? If it's from pre-2007, you should get your grandparents to pay off the balance before you start law school so your federal loans will be PAYE eligible.

Take federal loans over private because there's less risk involved. Use the money from your grandparents to minimize the amount of usurious GradPLUS you need to take.

0heL

New

Post by 0heL » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:25 pm