NYC Vs. Chicago

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
outerinoa

New

NYC Vs. Chicago

Post by outerinoa » Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:58 pm

How are you guys doing,I am a first generation law student here in the USA. i am currently trying to make a decision on which law school to attend. As of now, my two choices are New York Law School and Loyola in Chicago. Loyola in Chicago has a better ranking than New York Law School but New York Law School is in Manhattan,while Loyola is in downtown Chicago.

Do firms only hire local attorneys? do they search in different regions? what is or was your experience? any experience trying to find jobs or internships in any of these cities?.

Is attending NYLS over Chicago have benefits of being in the city even though Loyola is ranked higher?

Any advice or info on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

cavalier1138

Re: NYC Vs. Chicago

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 5:34 pm

Outside the T13, schools only have regional placement power.

So where do you want to work? What are your career goals? And what's your total cost of attendance at each school?

trebekismyhero

Silver

Post by trebekismyhero » Tue Feb 11, 2020 5:59 pm

+1 to everything Cav said and asked. Need to know a lot more info before giving you good advice.

I will say in a vacuum, Loyola is at least pretty well respected and places decently in Chicago, whereas I don't think NYLS is that well regarded or places well in NYC. But we need to know the answers to what Cav asked

decimalsanddollars

Bronze

Post by decimalsanddollars » Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:13 pm

I don't know where exactly to start on this, but...

1) Unless you are 100% sure you want to be a lawyer, don't go to law school. American law school is extremely expensive; it costs more that it's worth, and it is an objectively bad investment unless it is required for the career you want, i.e. practicing law.