Merit aid vs Better Ranking Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
notsolawful

Bronze

Merit aid vs Better Ranking

Post by notsolawful » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:37 pm

Hi, this is my first time posting on TLS, have been lurking for a while. I'm still a naive 0L, applying to law school next year and was wondering what the reasons of choosing a school better ranked in the T14 with little money over doing something like Early Decision to Northwestern and getting 150k? Is the job placement between Northwestern and let's say NYU or Chicago enough to justify an extra 100k? I know this is all subjective, but I would like to see an argument of why you should choose a higher ranked school over cheaper education.
Best,
Notsolawful

star fox

Diamond

Re: Merit aid vs Better Ranking

Post by star fox » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:41 pm

Are you a giant prestige whore/special snowflake who thinks he's going to be a supreme court justice?

Tiago Splitter

Diamond

Post by Tiago Splitter » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:44 pm

If you're poor enough to get max grant aid from HYS then the cost difference isn't that big. And if you have HYS numbers there's a pretty good chance you can get a full ride or close to it from another T-14 so applying ED and limiting your options isn't really necessary. But pretty much everyone with non-HYS but still T-14 numbers should be applying ED to Northwestern these days.

notsolawful

Bronze

Post by notsolawful » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:48 pm

No. Just wanna do Big law for a few years, then see what comes after that. I just think that 200k+ of debt will take a long time to pay off, making the higher salary of law not so high for the first 5-10 years of paying it. But it seems that a good amount of people would go to Columbia over getting 150k at Northwestern and I was just wondering what I was missing.

Ya, I don't have GPA for HYS. I have a good LSAT though, so I think I have a decent chance at CCN, as well as a good shot at NU ED

star fox

Diamond