UT (full-ride), GW (75k), NU (held), or Columbia (no word) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

NU v. UT (146k) v. Columbia v. GW (75k)

NU
6%
UT (146k)
80%
Columbia
11%
GW (75k)
3%

Total votes: 35

raynmaker1005

New

UT (full-ride), GW (75k), NU (held), or Columbia (no word)

Post by raynmaker1005 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:20 am

Hi all.

3.6/173 (4th), good softs with public interest essay, experience. 1 yr we. 09 grad from UCLA with BA in Linguistics.

Got a full ride from UT yesterday... pretty stoked about that. I'm reaching out to the community for help on a decision. :) Definitely will be contributing to the community with responses as well. Sorry i'm a relative noob, but I've been lurking for YEARS... Law school has been a long time coming for me. Sooo, here's the background,

As of now, I'm leaning towards NU and UT at full-scholly as my first choice. I'm not exactly sure what I want to do, but public service is definitely is a strong possibility. I'm not sure where i want to practice, but CA is definitely a market I would want to return to at some point in time. I'm really interested in immigration law, immigration reform, international law, business law (kinda), and i guess environmental law. I'm definitely not writing biglaw off the cards. But i don't really see myself doing it, considering the types of lifestyles i've heard associates having. I don't think any amount of money would be able to justify that. But, a less stressful private sector firm would definitely be very intellectually stimulating for me.

I also visited Chicago yesterday for the first time, and it's awesome. I love it so much. I definitely need more time think over how much i truly like the city, but at this point, I'm pretty convinced. The weather's not too bad, because I honestly like the feeling of going from a cold outdoor environment, to cozy warm inside. It's nice :)