What I missing on Law School Transparency? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TheZoid

Bronze

What I missing on Law School Transparency?

Post by TheZoid » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:27 pm

The three schools I'm looking at specifically on the site are:

Wash U: says that 40% of the class is making $110K or more, with 3% as Article III clerks and probably about 10% overall in clerkships of some kind, which I would assume are as competitive as firm jobs and will probably lead to a firm job. So about 50% of the class is doing well, or so it seems.

Wake Forest: says that 33% of the class if making $80K or more, with 2% as Article III clerks and again about 10% overall in clerkships. So call it 40% of the class doing pretty well.

UConn: 30% of the class if making $67,500 or more, with 2.4% as Article III clerks and about 10% overall in clerkships.

I'm a 0L noob...so I'm prepared to get torched for my logic fail. Is it just the remaining portions of the class that are in a tough spot? Wash U seems to get little respect on TLS, but seems pretty solid to me. Someone enlighten me please.

TheZoid

Bronze

Re: What I missing on Law School Transparency?

Post by TheZoid » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:04 pm

nobody with any input on this?

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:10 pm

You think 50% odds (at WashU, greater at the other two) of not being able to pay off your loans is ok?

Plus the LST data is from class of 2009. It wasn't until 2010 that the economy really started gutting law school employment stats. The numbers would be considerably worse now.

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:12 pm

LST's latest data is class of 2009 (who did OCI in 2007, before the crash).

ben4847

Silver

Post by ben4847 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:12 pm

TheZoid wrote:The three schools I'm looking at specifically on the site are: