Options... or lack of options... help please! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
toasty11

New

Options... or lack of options... help please!

Post by toasty11 » Sun May 09, 2010 10:54 am

First-time poster asking for some not-so first-time advice. I'm a dual canadian-american citizen looking to get out of the Canadian winter and make decent coin in an interesting and rewarding career. Law came to mind but as I graduated from an engineering degree, I have other options in that category. I planned on going into hightech law with start-ups and possibly do patent work in San Fran/SouthBay.

Option 1 - Law School in the U.S.
I was planning on going to law school in the States and got accepted into SCU (with 11k) and wait listed at W&M and still waiting on info from Davis. I kinda wish I was more methodological in my applications but I went with free apps and places I wanted to reside in (Davis, Hastings, SCU). I'm getting worried about SCU as they dropped in rankings, off the I.P. T10, and are costly to say the least. My scholarship is contingent on staying in the top 25% and I am very much debt-averse. I have 0 debt now and I'd like to get out of debt as soon as possible after law school. But looking at the numbers for financial aid and how long it could take to pay it off makes me quite hesitant to pay that final seat deposit. Career stats haven't been released yet from 2009 (I think?) and with many screaming doom about the saturated legal market and competitive SanFran market, I'd rather work with 0 debt than get on the 1L legal bandwagon. I understand there are no guarantees, but I'd like to know from someone that there's at least a decent chance.

Option 2 - Work 1 year + Law School in Canada