Help me pick... Specifically Chicago Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jd-

New

Help me pick... Specifically Chicago

Post by jd- » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:37 pm

Greetings,

I currently work in IT but want to switch to the field of Law... it was my original interest anyhow and I have worked in 2 law firms, aunt works for the Florida Bar... so I know what I am getting into.

A little background, I am 29 so not a typical student, and would probably be starting when I am 31... I turn 30 soon.

I have done a good deal of foreign NFP work and enough volunteer work to fill most peoples entire resumes.

Now that being said, I only want to practice in Chicago.

I have narrowed it down to the following, and also based on cities I could find tolerable that have good placements in either.

T14's
top choices
1.uchicago (chi) 5
2.northwestern (chi)11
3.columbia (nyc) 4
4.nyu (nyc) 6
5.penn (phi)7
6.georgetown (dc) 14

backups
1.boston u 22
2.fordham 30
3.loyola (chi) 78
4.kent (chi) 80
5.depaul (chi) 98

Am I missing anything? Is it worth applying to this many schools?

Anything else I should consider?
Last edited by jd- on Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BenJ

Silver

Re: Help me pick... Specifically NYC/Chicago

Post by BenJ » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:41 pm

What was your undergrad GPA? Without having an LSAT score, we can't predict your admissions cycle very well (and therefore can't say what schools to apply to, since it's very unlikely that you should apply to both CCN and Loyola/DePaul/Brooklyn), but if we have your undergrad GPA, we can at least rule some out.

That is, if your undergrad GPA is a 3.8+, don't bother with the bottom three. If your undergrad GPA is a 2.99-, don't bother with CCN. Yes, it matters even for someone long out of undergrad (albeit less).

AppsAbound

New

Post by AppsAbound » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:53 pm