Leaving law - am I crazy? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Leaving law - am I crazy?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:11 pm

Hi all,

I'm considering leaving law - and the job I'd wanted for several years - after less than two years, even though I like the people I work with and I know 20000 other would like to have my job. I'd value your input. Tell me I'm crazy if you that's what you think.

A little about me:
I'm a K-JD. I graduated near the top of my class from a T-14. Law review. Etc. I took a job in a large market, though not a mega legal market, for personal reasons (gf - now wife - and her job). I have no kids. The firm I'm at is one of the best few firms in this city and it's the firm I wanted when I entered law school. I summered at this firm after my 2L year and picked a practice group based almost only on their need and the fact that I'd gotten to know the people in the group and really like them. It's a niche group that I knew nothing about and I won't get more specific than that. I'm making the market where I'm at but nothing close to 180. I didn't get a bonus last year and won't this year because we are very slow. I have debt but it's not awful - my monthly payments are under $1000.

I wasn't crazy about law school, but I found the LSAT and law exams to be fairly straightforward. Since I have a worthless college degree, I powered through thinking I'd like practice more and that I didn't really have other options.