3.65 (or 3.7)/179 - Chances for HYS? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
lyla12

New

3.65 (or 3.7)/179 - Chances for HYS?

Post by lyla12 » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:55 am

Hi guys! First post here, so I apologize in advance if I'm doing something wrong.

I'm currently an undergrad (just finished my junior year) at HYS. I really screwed up my freshman year (with a sub 3.0 GPA), but pulled a 4.0 over my sophomore & junior years to bring my GPA back to where it is now: 3.65. Assuming that I continue pulling good grades over senior year (which should be doable), I could graduate with ~3.7ish GPA (maybe a little higher; I'm not sure exactly). So it would make a difference, but not a huge difference. Basically, I'm wondering whether my admissions chances would be drastically affected by whether I apply this cycle or wait one more year.

other factors:

I have NO interest in going into biglaw -- I want to eventually go into academia. I am a psych major and am interested in applying to PhD programs in Psychology/Neuroscience as well as applying to law schools. I am pretty confident about my chances at psych PhD programs... but law school admissions are a different story. I've heard that it is pointless to pursue legal academia unless one graduates from HYS law, so I'm really aiming primarily at those schools. However, I've been told that my GPA is too low, and even if I wait one more year to apply, a 3.7 GPA is not high enough to be competitive at HYS.

Basically, I'm wondering how my chances are for HYS NEXT year, with a (presumably) 3.7 GPA and 179 LSAT. If my chances are not high, I might as well apply to psych PhD programs this year and just forget about law school altogether - but if my chances are decent, I'd consider waiting one more year to apply to Psych PhD programs, and hope for JD and PhD acceptances.