Need thoughts on miraculous test day performance & moving on

baa414

Need thoughts on miraculous test day performance & moving on

Postby baa414 » Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:59 am

Hi all,

New poster, longtime lurker. In the weeks preceding the October LSAT, my practice tests ranged from the mid to high 150s. I was consistently scoring in the 157-159 range. The highest I scored in a practice test was a 160.

I originally planned to take the test in June, but postponed until October because I was PTing in the low 150s at the time. I studied my ass off the entire summer and the first month of school. Nevertheless, I still didn't see marked improvements. I decided to take the test anyway, because I wanted to get it over with, and I didn't want it hanging over my head.

So, somehow, on test day I pulled off a 165. I did better in RC and LG than I had on any practice test. I didn't sleep particularly well the night before, although I was in bed (resting, watching TV) for about 10 hours. I'm not a naturally nervous person either, so in some ways I enjoyed taking the test and looking forward to some free time. Admittedly, I found the RC and LG portions easier than some of my practice tests, but I got about 10 questions more correct on the real thing than on my practice tests, which is naturally surprising.

My question is, what does this mean? Should I count my lucky stars and move on, or should I make the push to 170 in this next month? My only concern is that I'll start PTing again and will see scores way below 165, which wouldn't make sense to me. If anyone has any tips for getting over the hump to 170--I figured I only needed to get six more questions right in October--please let me know. At this point I am willing to do anything to get to that level because I have a 3.9 GPA I don't want to waste. Also, if anyone has heard about miraculous test day performances, it would be great to read about those.