What score do I need to justify a year off? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
sabza

New

What score do I need to justify a year off?

Post by sabza » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:06 pm

Hey all,

I wasn't going to post until the June scores came out, but at this point I am so anxious, that I figure there is no harm.

I should give you all a back story:
I graduated in May with a 3.77, BUT I am a transfer student, who majorly messed up in my first few years. My LSAC GPA is 3.3.

I have a decent explanation (very personal) for my bad grades, and I took three years off from school to volunteer with children with HIV in South Africa. When I returned to finish my studies, I had a 3.77 (major in Political Science, minor in German).

I started studying for the LSAT in late October 2012, and took the exam in December. My diagnostic was 160, I was PTing between 174-176 (highest was 179), and on test day I was sick, stressed, overtired, and scored a 162.

I applied with that score, and my best offer was UC Irvine with a 20k/year scholarship. I feel like that was quite generous considering my numbers, and that they were probably giving me a chance because of my volunteer work, and the upward trend in my grades.

I took the LSAT again in June, and feel much better about it this time. If I don't come back with a significantly better score, I will go to UCI, which I truly believe to be a great school. If however, it comes back significantly higher, I was thinking of trying for a T-14. Since I will never be guaranteed admission, I need to weigh my options. What score would justify a year off to reapply? If any of you have some advice that would be greatly appreciated.

mindarmed

Silver

Re: What score do I need to justify a year off?

Post by mindarmed » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:11 pm

Kool-Aid

Bronze

Post by Kool-Aid » Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:15 pm

If you were pting that high, why not retake in October if you don't hit your target?

sabza

New