Will a Philosophy Minor Help Me With the LSAT? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
John Mill

New

Will a Philosophy Minor Help Me With the LSAT?

Post by John Mill » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:35 am

So Ive wanted for a long time to be a lawyer. Recently I began doing some serious research, and even hearing all the horror stories and terrible news about how bad the job market is hasn't deterred me. It has however made me much more cautious about how I got about my education. My goal is a T14 law school, if I cant make any schools in the T14 then I will likely decide on a different career path.

I'm in my first year of undergrad school after dropping out of high school four years ago due to a persona tragedy. To give myself a leg up I'm planning out my education as early as possible. I've researched and read about how the two things law schools look at are your GPA and LSAT scores. I'm overly worried about my GPA, all I can really do about that is study, work hard, and give up a social life. So my main concern had been the LSAT.

I've read that Philosophy majors do the best on the LSAT due to certain skills it trains you in, and I have been enjoying and doing well in the first philosophy class that I'm taking. There is however, not much I want to do with a Philosophy degree if plans with law school fall through, and my current school doesn't offer a major in Philosophy.

So I'm planning on majoring in Political Science, or possibly English and minoring in Philosophy. My question here is, will a minor in Philosophy give me the skills I need to have the edge on the LSAT?

cahwc12

Silver

Re: Will a Philosophy Minor Help Me With the LSAT?

Post by cahwc12 » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:22 am

Studying for the LSAT will give you the skills you need to do well on the LSAT.

If you want to develop a mindset to crush this test and in dealing with the work that goes into it, major in electrical engineering and double in English rhetoric.