Two and a half years in LSAT purgatory: when will it end ??

Can our hero score a 170+ on the June 2012 exam?

Yes: it's been a long journey but with enough diligent practice, it's impossible for him not to get a 170 by June.
27%
Maybe: it's possible that a 170 is in the cards, but far from certain.
38%
No: our hero has reached his cap; he just doesn't have the mental brainpower to break 170.
20%
Give up: it's just not worth it anymore; our hero's time is better spent elsewhere.
16%

Total votes: 45

born4law

Two and a half years in LSAT purgatory: when will it end ??

Postby born4law » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:42 pm

I had been working on the LSAT since Summer 2009 in varying degrees of intensity. After years of practice on and off, I managed to start PTing consistently in the low to mid 170s. There used to be a much longer, detailed post here chronicling the ups and downs but I've since taken that down to protect my anonymity.

You'll see that this post is actually a poll asking readers to see if I'd be able to make it past a 170 after all the time and effort spent.

I eventually succeeded, getting a 97 percentile score after four attempts.

My last attempt, the one in which I scored the highest, was taken "cold" with just 2 PTs in the month prior (despite the years of practice).

How does that work? What can explain such an outcome?

Who knows. That's the LSAT for you.

I've left this post up here for posterity. Let all those who come after me in their struggles with the LSAT know the nature of the beast.

Best of luck to you all. If I could do it, so can you.
Last edited by born4law on Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

StrictlyBusiness

Re: Two and a half years in LSAT purgatory: when will it end ??

Postby StrictlyBusiness » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:54 pm

Bad advice.
Last edited by StrictlyBusiness on Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

StrictlyBusiness

Postby StrictlyBusiness » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:57 pm