Cancel or try my luck?

Cancel or try my luck?

Postby GMX2000 » Tue May 31, 2011 8:20 pm

I signed up really really early for the LSAT but sadly didn't start studying for it until three weeks before. I know, I know, shame shame, but in my defense I had a lot of work to do to this past semester to keep my GPA high. I guess I also grossly underestimated the difficulty of the test.

Anyway, I started studying just after the semester let out and I'm scheduled for the June 6 test. So far in my most recent practice test (third one I've taken) I got 159, after getting 156 on both the others. Definitely not ideal. I want at least 160, 165 if possible. I'm really really good at the arguments (usually only miss around 3-4 items per section) but only decent on the logic games and that's on the medium difficulty ones. When you get into stuff like having 4 men and 2 women that must be arranged on three teams which received 1st place, 2nd place, and 3rd place, and not necessarily in that order, it starts feeling like I can't think, especially knowing I'm being timed.

The postponement deadline is obviously already passed (it passed right when the semester let out, before I had a chance to see how much more difficult the test was than I was expecting). The school I want to go to accepts the highest of two scores but...even though that's their policy I know a low first score would darken the shine of a second result however higher it may be. And in addition, I'd like (need) some financial aid. My GPA is 3.99 so I think I could get some if I could just get this darn LSAT score up.

If I canceled and waited until September, I just might be able to bump up my score to where I want it with some more studying. But...then it would be a black mark on my record. I could try explaining it in my application but what could I say? "I procrastinated and had to reschedule"?

Can someone give me some advice?

Re: Cancel or try my luck?

Postby JD2014 » Tue May 31, 2011 8:41 pm