Joining ABA as a OL? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
bdm261

Bronze

Joining ABA as a OL?

Post by bdm261 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:31 am

Should I do it? Or should I wait until I'm an actual law student? Any benefits?

I saw they offer memberships for undergrad students and the general public. I graduate in two weeks, so probably not eligible for the undergrad. If I make a general public account can I later turn it into a law student account?

dextermorgan

Silver

Re: Joining ABA as a OL?

Post by dextermorgan » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:35 am

Just wait until you are a law student. I don't see the point of joining as a 0L. Hell, most law students don't join, but they should.

patrickd139

Gold

Post by patrickd139 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:44 am

"General public accounts"? The ABA's insatiable appetite to increase it's membership revenue is ridiculous.

bdm261

Bronze

Post by bdm261 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:53 am

patrickd139 wrote:"General public accounts"? The ABA's insatiable appetite to increase it's membership revenue is ridiculous.
They actually call it an "Associate" account.

From ABA - http://www.americanbar.org/membership/j ... renew.html

---------
Associate
Join now as an associate member
If you wish to join the ABA but are not a student or licensed U.S. attorney, you may
join the ABA as an Associate.
---------

And it's $175 annually for a "non-lawyer, non-student" membership compared to $25 for law students or undergrad, I think I'll pass.

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:55 am

What's the point?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

bdm261

Bronze

Post by bdm261 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:58 am

bk187 wrote:What's the point?
Networking opportunities, receiving updates about major court decisions, resume booster, etc.

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:01 pm

bdm261 wrote:Networking opportunities, receiving updates about major court decisions, resume booster, etc.