Deciding whether or not to go to law school Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
skylervm

New

Deciding whether or not to go to law school

Post by skylervm » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:50 am

I'm a graphic designer considering changing careers and applying to law school. I like the knowledge and skills it affords you to be able to work to change laws and policies, but I'm concerned that I may not like the way I would be spending my days as a lawyer and I maybe have an inaccurate picture of what lawyers actually do.

A large part of my concern is ignorance about what law school is like, what life as a lawyer is like, etc. So please bear with me.

I'm particularly interested in Social Justice, Comparative Studies and International Law. I'd really like to be able to work to change our existing drug laws, defend people who have been victims of these laws and help create a new drug policy. I'm also interested in doing similar work in the areas of human rights abuses and immigration. I also have a desire to teach and possibly write at some point, so academia isn't out of the question as an eventual career path.

My questions are:

What does a career like what I've defined above look like? Is that even possible?
What concentration would you recommend if I was primarily interested in drug policy?
What questions should I be asking myself in trying to decide whether or not to pursue law school / becoming a lawyer?

I recognize I tend to get bored with things easily and shift from one interest to the next. This may be one of those times and want to be cautious that I'm not just getting distracted and changing careers on a whim. A large part of my reservation is having pretty bad ADD, which has always made school (particularly reading lots of boring information and doing tedious work) pretty difficult. I maintained a 3.75 in college and think I can do this if I'm interested in it, I just want to make sure I know what I'm getting myself into.

Thanks for your time.