Should I attend West Virginia University college of Law?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)

Should I attend West Virginia University college of Law?

Postby wvufan » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:42 am

Hey everyone!

I'm currently a student at a West Virginia instate public college. I have a 3.7-3.8 GPA, and a 165 LSAT. According to a lot of people I have talked to, these scores could get me a huge scholarship, and since I'm an instate resident, my debt will be very low (instate tuition in only 10k). My goal is to practice in WV at one of the big WV law firms (Jackson Kelly, Steptoe Johnson, spillman battle, Bowles and rice, etc). However my worries/questions

1. How hard is it to get a job at one of the big WV law firms, or even just a well paying legal job (at least 60k and up)

2. Should I instead apply to a T30 school, hope to finish top 1/3-median and then apply to a big WV law firm since I have T30 "pedigree"

3. If I do go to WVU, but don’t get a WV big firm am i screwed when it comes to getting legal employment.

Btw... I’m a born and raised West Virginian, minority (not URM status though), have great soft factors such as interning with a major WV political figure, and it's safe to say that my family is developing solid relationships/networking with WV politicians and especially people associated with them (rich attorneys for example). I really want to attend WVU for LS, because of being close to family/my girlfriend, and I truly love living in WV. However I’m scared of job prospects out of WVU, and don’t want to take out massive debt at a T30, especially with the legal market being so bad.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Should I attend West Virginia University college of Law?

Postby kk19131 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:46 am

Not if you want a legitimate job.

Postby AreJay711 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:21 am