Dual Degree Programs: JD/Masters of Public Administration Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
kylehunt

New

Dual Degree Programs: JD/Masters of Public Administration

Post by kylehunt » Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:11 am

I am interested in enrolling in a 4 year dual degree program in order to earn both a JD and a MPA. I see myself eventually entering public service, whether it be an elected position or not, so I am trying to set up my education in such a way as to make myself as knowledgable as possible in the areas of policy design and implementation.

Throughout undergrad I operated under the assumption that I would attend law school after I earned my degree however now that I am considering a MPA I am beginning to question my motivations for law school. It is not that the subjects studied in law school do not interest me, in fact its quite the contrary, but I do not see myself practicing law for all that long after law school.

The dual degree program enables me to earn both degrees in 4 years, as oppose to 3 years for the JD or only 2 for the MPA. I want to make sure that the law degree would be of use to me in my career, in order to ensure that I'm not simply wasting two more years in school just because I am interested in the subject and want the degree.

If you are currently pursuing a dual degree in these fields or have already earned one, any information or advice you may have would be greatly appreciated.

fugitivejammer

Bronze

Re: Dual Degree Programs: JD/Masters of Public Administration

Post by fugitivejammer » Tue Nov 02, 2010 6:11 pm