2019 July California Bar

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
nappingwolf

New

2019 July California Bar

Postby nappingwolf » Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:01 am

Hi all, didn't see an official thread for the upcoming July bar so thought I'd start one.

I'm a repeat taker working full-time (and if that doesn't make you feel better about your situation, the last time I took the CA bar was in 2012...yep, I know). I have a long list of reasons why it'll be that much harder for me, but I decided to burn my excuses and just dive right in. YOLO, right? :roll: I'm just beginning my climb up the bar prep mountain, spent the last month very casually re-acclimating myself to the topics. But after reading some racehorse Evidence questions today I promptly wondered if I've made a mistake and should withdraw from taking the bar altogether. :oops:

Anyway, looking forward to the discussion here. And to passing!

nappingwolf

New

Re: 2019 July California Bar

Postby nappingwolf » Sun Apr 07, 2019 3:06 pm

Also wanted to add that I'm self-studying. Took barbri before my first try and the one-size-fits-all didn't work for me. I felt like a deer in headlights the entire time, going through the motions perfectly tho because I'm an ace at passive studying.

My roadblock has been the MBEs. Writing was a strength, my scaled written for F12 was 1489. I don't even want to say what my MBE score was because it hurts. I've always had this impractical fear of practice questions - even in law school - as if the stuff I learned/memorized would disappear. So in the past, I approached prep simply by rote memorizing EVERYTHING... I know why I didn't pass. I suck at preparation and have gotten by my entire life just winging it but I'm here to learn to change that.

For a general law refresher, I'm using:
barbri Conviser Mini J18/F19

For essays:
Mary Basick's Essay Exam Writing - great attack sheets, will probably use this to memorize later