Tax law at the individual level Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
powerfail

New

Tax law at the individual level

Post by powerfail » Sun Apr 14, 2024 5:53 pm

What does practicing tax law look like if you are at a small firm or solo practice and serving individuals and small businesses? (I know that there are tax attorneys both in BigLaw and in-house at companies, which is different.) At the individual level, what is the difference between what a CPA can do and what a tax attorney can do? Also, how feasible is it to combine tax law with other areas of small-firm practice (e.g., employment law, immigration law, criminal defense)?

Part of what draws me to tax law is that it seems more objective and “mathy” than other areas. Is that a fair assessment?

nealric

Re: Tax law at the individual level

Post by nealric » Thu Apr 18, 2024 12:18 pm

I am a tax attorney.

Most tax law at the individual and small business level is tax controversy. Individuals and small business have few planning opportunities that demand the resources of an attorney (other than high net worth individuals with international footprints, complex businesses, or estate planning issues). If you really wanted to do planning work for individuals, you'd probably need to be more of a Trust and Estates/Edler Law practitioner with a tax planning adjunct.