Liability for kind turns Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
DutchLawStudent

New

Liability for kind turns

Post by DutchLawStudent » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:50 am

Hello everyone,

I'm a Dutch law student and I am doing research for my end thesis on the liability of friends and relatives who cause damage while they help eachother. I think the English term for it is libaility during a “kind turn”.

For example in the Netherlands is a law case where one of two sisters helps the other to move a closet up the stairs. This ‘helping’ sister caused the other’s arm to get stuck between the closet and a doorpost. The court decided to reject liability, but the reasons of this particular dismissal are rather vague. Even though such is not written in law nor explicitly determined by the court, there are reasons to assume in dutch law the social aspect of a kind turn justifies a different measure for liablity. This might be the reason the court did not conclude to liability in this particular case. A comparable deviate liability norm is (explicitly) utilized for sports and game situations in Dutch law. I want to research, advocate and design a similar norm for kind turns.