Making things work with debt Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
piney

New

Making things work with debt

Post by piney » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:58 pm

I'm planning on taking the LSAT in October, and hoping for NYU where I might get $45,000 in financial aid. I work as a teacher in a private high schoool, get paid very little and really don't like my job.

I know I probably won't be cut out for big law longterm. My plan was to work as an associate for several years, then move to a corporate counsel position with more control over my schedule. Because of my age, I'll be 33 when I start in big law, which doesn't leave me much time if I want to get Associate work out of the way before starting a family.

How feasible a plan is this? With law school expenses totaling $81k a year, even with considerable financial aid, I would leave with $200k in debt. Would it be enough to commit to big law for just a few years? Or would I have to stay in for longer? How easy is it to pay off loans working in-house counsel somewhere?

Also, are there alternatives to starting in big law that would allow me to pay of loans and still be well off financially? The more I read about these firms, the more I'm afraid to work at them.

Clearly

Gold

Re: Making things work with debt

Post by Clearly » Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:08 pm

piney wrote:I'm planning on taking the LSAT in October, and hoping for NYU where I might get $45,000 in financial aid. I work as a teacher in a private high schoool, get paid very little and really don't like my job.

I know I probably won't be cut out for big law longterm. My plan was to work as an associate for several years, then move to a corporate counsel position with more control over my schedule. Because of my age, I'll be 33 when I start in big law, which doesn't leave me much time if I want to get Associate work out of the way before starting a family.