State Appellate Judge and Adjunct Available for questions.

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Opinions_R_Us

State Appellate Judge and Adjunct Available for questions.

Postby Opinions_R_Us » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:14 am

I was a trial lawyer for 24 years, have served on my state's intermediate appellate court for 13 more and have taught appellate and trial practice as an adjunct at a T50 for the last 10 so fire away if you have questions I can help with.

RodneyRuxin

Re: State Appellate Judge and Adjunct Available for questions.

Postby RodneyRuxin » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:30 am

1) why TLS?
2) why the corny username?

Opinions_R_Us

Postby Opinions_R_Us » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:31 am

RodneyRuxin wrote:1) why TLS?

Um. Why not?

Bronte

Postby Bronte » Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:00 am

What are the best and worst features of being on the bench?

Opinions_R_Us

Postby Opinions_R_Us » Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:27 am

Bronte wrote:What are the best and worst features of being on the bench?

The best features of the appellate bench are the intellectual stimulation and the flexibility. The issues are often very interesting and require a lot of research and deep thinking to avoid unintended consequences. I really like to write and crafting a good opinion can be both rewarding and sometimes even a lot of fun.

As far as flexibility is concerned, 90% of my job is spent reading and only 10% is actual opinion writing. I read hundreds of pages of briefs and petitions a week but the great thing is that you can read pretty much anywhere and any time as long as the work gets done. Most appellate judges I know take briefs to doctors appointments and the like to keep up with the load. With laptop computers and tablets, I even do a lot of my writing at home at night when things are quiet and I won't be interrupted by a phone call from a colleague who wants to discuss a case.