Take the Patent Bar before Law School? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
cahwc12

Silver

Take the Patent Bar before Law School?

Post by cahwc12 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:45 am

I have several questions about this and would love some quality advice from those in the know. I hold a social science bachelor's and do not currently qualify for the patent bar. However, I can qualify by enrolling for the Spring semester at my local state university relatively cheaply. I would need to take only three science classes. Here are my questions:

(1) How much of an advantage is it going into OCI/etc to be patent bar eligible and is it conditional on having a science undergraduate or graduate degree?

(2) How much of a leg up is passing the patent bar before law school, if at all?

(3) How would my position compare to the following groups for hiring purposes?
(a) Graduate degree and/or IP WE
(b) Undergraduate degree and passed the patent bar
(c) Undergraduate degree and did not take the patent bar before law school
(d) Anyone not qualifying for the patent bar and with no relevant WE

If I'm asking the wrong questions, please explain. I need to make this decision to enroll by in November.

sky7

Bronze

Re: Take the Patent Bar before Law School?

Post by sky7 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:15 am

EE/CS, or life sciences?

The patent bar is never a bad thing to have, but it's a PITA. Those with EE/CS can get by with less credentials than the life sciences.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:18 am