Advice on Patent Law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
mtran019

New

Advice on Patent Law

Post by mtran019 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:09 pm

Hi, I'm new to this so please be nice. I recently graduated with a Neuroscience BS and want to integrate it with a law degree. I was wondering what are the different legal fields I can explore? The number one go to field that everyone advices for anyone who has a science background is to enter the world of patents. I have done some research and pharmaceutical patent litigation has caught my eye. So my second question would be, what are the steps/requirements needed to become a pharmaceutical patent litigation? Would I have to get my masters in neurobiology or continue for a PhD. I would much rather not shoot for the PhD because it requires more time (years) and more money, when I would want to immediately start working after getting my JD and possibly MS. If I am going to spend big bucks on extra schooling, I also want to know what is the starting and average salary for a normal patent lawyer and for a pharmaceutical patent litigator (if there is a difference). I know I rambled on alot but I'll break down my questions to make it easier:

1) what fields can I integrate a Neuroscience B.S. and JD?
2) What schooling/requirements does one have to complete to become a pharmaceutical patent litigator?
3) Is a Masters degree be suffice? If I were to get a Masters degree would Neurobiology be okay would does it have to be in chemistry?
4)Hows the job market for both patent attorneys and more specifically for pharmaceutical patent litigators (PPL)?
5) what are PPL starting and average salary in California?
6) Is there anything I can do now, just with my B.S. to gain experience or exposure?

I appreciate the help.

fatduck

Gold

Re: Advice on Patent Law

Post by fatduck » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:16 pm

my thoughts: