Retired prosecutor (22 years) taking questions

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
tmgarvey

Retired prosecutor (22 years) taking questions

Postby tmgarvey » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:19 pm

I retired last year after 22 years as a prosecutor--now doing public interest work.

Loved working as a prosecutor, and would be glad to answer questions about working in the criminal justice field (I know enough PDs and private defense lawyers to know a bit about their end of things, too).

Verity

Re: Retired prosecutor (22 years) taking questions

Postby Verity » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:21 pm

What's the first piece of advice you'd give someone who wants to be a prosecutor?

lsdream

Postby lsdream » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:22 pm

Where did you attend Law School?

tmgarvey

Postby tmgarvey » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:32 pm

I graduated from Rutgers-Camden (class of 84).
Verity wrote:What's the first piece of advice you'd give someone who wants to be a prosecutor?
Take a clinical course (or an internship) that will get you into the courtroom, if at all possible, preferably in a prosecutor's office or a public defender's office. No prosecutor's office I've ever heard of would hold it against someone that they have defense experience. And vice-versa--working in a prosecutor's office is great training for being a defense attorney. You will find out how things actually work--the practical aspects of how the system works, all the little pieces that go into getting a result in a criminal case.

I did my internship my third year at the U.S. Attorney's Office in Camden, and I was smitten. I had no thoughts of being a prosecutor before that (and I wasn't able to get hired as a prosecutor straight out of law school--I worked a few years in the civil division of the State AG's Office first).