Recent Grad (Rutgers-Newark) Taking Q's

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
2012JayDee

Recent Grad (Rutgers-Newark) Taking Q's

Postby 2012JayDee » Wed May 30, 2012 5:55 pm

First a few things about me:

1. Just graduated
2. I don't work for admissions.
3. I don't care if you don't like New Jersey, Newark, Rutgers or any combination of the three. None of those things will hurt my feelings (see #1).
4. I have a job at a large national firm (through OCI). I will not mention the firm or anything else about it, except to say, I could not be more happy with my decision to accept the offer.
5. I am studying for the NY/NJ bar exams and decided to procrastinate by offering advice to prospective/newly admitted students. Most of the advice you get on this site (and other prospective students) comes from people that don't know their asses from their elbows and offer mediocre, uninformed, uneducated, biased, irrational, childish, and flat out stupid advice based purely in speculation. My 2¢ is just that. But I've been there, done that and got the t-shirt (see #1).
6. I have no desire to bad mouth any other school or law school program because frankly I don't give a damn (see #1 and #4).

Answers to FAQs:

-Newark is not the safest place in the world. But it isn't Baghdad either. There are silly, petty thefts that happen on campus, but mostly to young undergrads walking around random streets at night. I know of 2 law students that had their vehicles broken into in apartment buildings around Newark, but that could happen anywhere. For the most part I don't know of any law students that have been victimized. Getting back and forth to Newark Penn station is fast and simple. You can take the 10 min walk or take the free shuttle that picks up right behing the law school beginning at 4pm every day. Parking at the school is atrocious. There are decks but they are usually full by 10am.