Help please; I am terrified.

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.

Help please; I am terrified.

Postby FreeLolita » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:35 pm

So I just got into a law school where I had the median LSAT score and above the 75th in terms of GPA. It was my first choice, and I am likely attending this school. I was excited at first, but then it hit me that this is going to be extremely challenging, and now I am absolutely terrified that I don't belong there, and that I am going to fail out of this school after the first semester. In college, I majored in economics and political science, which are generally considered pretty easy. But I found I had to work really hard to get grades of A in most of my classes when most of my peers didn't have to work nearly as hard. The fact of the matter is simply that I was not as smart as them. I literally had no social life during my undergaduate career because of this. Also, my learning curve is utter s***. And I think I may have some sort of learning disability. I find the law fascinating, but I do not know what to expect in law school. Given the investment of time, money, and lost wages involved in going to law school, should I take a year off and do something else and try to mature as a person, and then decide if this all for me?

Re: Help please; I am terrified.

Postby Rammstein » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:46 pm

Generally speaking, if you aren't going to law school for free or close to free, you shouldn't be going.

Intellectually you'd probably be fine. Everybody worries a little initially, but you get used to the suck. At this point law school is a terrible investment unless you're not paying much to be there.

Postby MrKappus » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:50 pm