Tips for clerking with a canadian law degree Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
nikki123

New

Tips for clerking with a canadian law degree

Post by nikki123 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:45 pm

Dear all,

I hope one of you can help me out. I am an American law student law at McGill (in Montreal, Canada). I am in the top 10 percent of my class and have great references and work experience. I went to McGill because it was cheaper. Now, I want to clerk here. I am wondering whether there are any clerkships that I can apply too, even though I have a Canadian law degree.

I ask this question for two reasons. First, I am unable to register with Oscar due to the fact that McGill University is not recognized by the site. Second, many of the clerkship positions appear to require a JD (McGill law students graduate with a BCL/LLB degree).

(Note that I can pass the bar in five states upon graduation and we do learn American law in addition to Canadian law)

Thanks all

:)

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: Tips for clerking with a canadian law degree

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:27 pm

According to somewhere on the OSCAR site, law clerk candidates have to meet the following qualification (among others):
Standing within the upper third of the law school class from a law school on the approved list of either the American Bar Association or the Association of American Law Schools;
I don't think that includes Canadian schools, but I could be wrong.

yuzu