How important is Law Review?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
mia137

How important is Law Review?

Postby mia137 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:44 pm

Hi Guys,

I apologize if this topic has been discussed before. I didn't find it with a search, but I could have looked harder.

I'm a little premature on this but I'm wondering whether I really should do law review. (Let's just assume I get on.) I have no intention of applying for big firm jobs or judicial clerkships. I'd like to work in wills, trusts, and estates at a small firm and eventually, after I have sufficient experience, join forces with my MIL who will be opening shop locally after leaving her out of state firm. I'm a CPA with 3 years experience in a Big 4 accounting firm. My grades are and will continue to be solid. I know law review would provide amazing experience, but I also understand that it can make 2L hellish. I'm planning on taking a very heavy course load because I want to front load units for personal reasons and I'd love to get some experience during the school year working in my field if anyone will take me, which I probably won't be able to get credit for. I'm concerned that taking max units, working a bit, AND doing a journal will just be too much and my husband will forget what I even look like. So...if I decide to knock a journal out of the equation, am I likely to regret it?

Can anyone provide any sage words of advice?? Sorry for rambling. I don't know what information is relevant so I gave it all. :)

Thanks!!

Ludo!

Re: How important is Law Review?

Postby Ludo! » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:10 pm

Law review is a nightmare and it's made my 2l year hell. But it goes on your resume forever, and it's probably the reason I got my job this summer. But if you know for sure you want to work at a small firm and you don't want to clerk or anything it's probably not necessary.

But