How To Use Outlook and OneNote to Organize Your 1L Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
AVBucks4239

Silver

How To Use Outlook and OneNote to Organize Your 1L

Post by AVBucks4239 » Sun Aug 21, 2011 2:56 pm

Disclaimer: I am just beginning my 1L, but I am extremely familiar with both OneNote and Outlook. I used them religiously through undergrad and throughout my last year of working. I have read the super-advanced thread on OneNote (http://top-law-schools.com/forums/viewt ... 2&t=127496), but as the author admits, it is a bit overkill (if you want advanced tips, read that thread). This thread is about setting up your Outlook and OneNote in the most efficient manners possible. Xeoh had some great screenshots of how he organized his notebook, but those seem to be lost from the link in the "Collected Wisdom" thread (I copied his setup). Also, I have yet to see any threads concerning Microsoft Outlook. I have read almost every thread linked in the "Collected Wisdom" thread, and most of the advice relates in one way or another to being efficient and/or organized. As an incoming 1L, I'm not preaching how to succeed in your first year, but just thought it would be a good idea to create a condensed thread about the basics of OneNote and Outlook to maximize organization and efficiency.

General Points
The great thing about both of these programs is that they save with every keystroke. You don't have to worry about saving work. Type your notes in class, turn your computer off, and it will be there when you turn it back on.

These tips are for the 2010 version of both programs. If you have 2007, it should still work.