Bar exam panic Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
cheesenoodlekugel

New

Bar exam panic

Post by cheesenoodlekugel » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:45 pm

All right, I re-wrote the below to actually express what my concern is:

I'm studying with Kaplan PMBR. Because Kaplan puts such a huge emphasis on the MBE, I'm doing decently on the MBE section (scored in the 140's raw on my mid-term, and usually getting 70% or more correct on practice quizzes). But...I'm literally completely failing the state section (i.e. looked at a recent actual exam and didn't even know what several questions were about and hadn't the foggiest how to answer them). I didn't realize how miserably I was doing on the state section until now because Kaplan spends the whole first half of the course on the MBE.

Between now and the bar, I should have about 12 full days of independent study available. I came up with a study plan where I plan to devote one full day of study to each section that I am really doing badly on and to take 2 essays in that subject each day. Does this sound like it will be enough to pass the bar? Does anyone have tips on how to improve my essay score?
Last edited by cheesenoodlekugel on Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:15 am, edited 3 times in total.

nealric

Re: Bar exam panic

Post by nealric » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:04 pm

Are you doing poorly on barbri scores? Don't worry about those- they purposely grade low to scare people into studying. Stop with the panic- it's called Passachusetts for a reason.

If you are wondering how you will do on the real MBE, buy the NCBEX practice exam. My score on that was within 5 points of my actual scaled score and others seem to have similar experiences.

cheesenoodlekugel

New

Post by cheesenoodlekugel » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:12 pm

Okay, that actually makes me feel a lot better.
Last edited by cheesenoodlekugel on Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sunynp