Cramming Guide: Ace Your Exam in 2 Weeks Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
MSckcl43

New

Cramming Guide: Ace Your Exam in 2 Weeks

Post by MSckcl43 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:08 pm

Fall Semester 1L, I studied my ass off for Crim and Torts and blew off Contracts and Con Law because the material was boring and I just couldn't get motivated until a week before the exam. Naturally I got B's in Crim and Torts and an A in Contracts and A- in Con Law. I went to my K's professor after I got the grades to go over the exam. After about 10 minutes I told him I didn't take one note for the last half of the semester and just learned it out of the supplements (in particular the BarBri prep book). Surprisingly, he laughed and said he wouldn't recommend it, but "everyone has different ways of learning" and he encouraged me to do what was comfortable. So I carried it over to Spring Semester and had similar results in Civ Pro and Property (fuck property).

Say what you want about luck or whatever, but the proof is there. 8+ years of higher level education (undergrad, MBA, and now second semester 2L) and I'm all in on cramming. I'm a firm believer that people learn in different ways so here's a thread to support anyone else who's better under pressure...

Negatives: Obviously spending about 10 days memorizing what you learn in 4 months is absolutely brutal and physically and mentally exhausting. It's expensive because a lot of the studying is done with commercial outlines, E&E's, and other supplements. Stress made me smoke a pack a day, and I think I lost 10 - 12 pounds a semester only to put it back on with a week of binge drinking (also $$)