Seemingly struck out: any advice going forward? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Seemingly struck out: any advice going forward?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:26 pm

I am a median student at UT and at this point in the game, it appears that I have struck out at OCI. I am not sure what went wrong - for what it's worth, I was told that I am an above average interviewer by Career Services. I also have plenty of work experience (also worked full time during college) which I had hoped would have shown that I am a "self-starter" and accustomed to hard work. I think it may be a matter of me not relating well enough to these lawyers that I interview with given that my resume speaks to having a less-privileged background. But I understand that is just speculation and likely fueled by my own frustration.

Anyway, I am a bit depressed about this but I realize that I need to dig deep and push forward. I am from Texas (Dallas Fort-Worth specifically) and want to stay here - I have no ties anywhere else. I have been researching smaller to mid-sized firms in the major TX cities (been sending out maybe 10 applications a day) and it seems as though I have hit them all. I plan on doing the second OCI session that comes up next month, which will feature 4 or 5 mid-sized firms that I can potentially interview with. I have also scheduled an appointment with Career Services to discuss my options.

Any advice for me going forward?

Thanks in advance.

Anonymous User