Practicing Attnys: Lesser of Three Evils? Cap.Markets, M&A, or Banking?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Most Predictable Practice?

Cap. Markets
31%
M&A
6%
Banking
44%
All equally unpredictable
19%

Total votes: 16

Anonymous User

Practicing Attnys: Lesser of Three Evils? Cap.Markets, M&A, or Banking?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:01 am

Hey all, now before I get this thread blown up about how quality of life sucks as a biglaw attorney, my question is of a different nature.

All things being equal, which of the three has the most predictability? All of us know what we're getting ourselves into, but perhaps if those practicing could weigh in on the practice area that has the fewest last-second all-nighters, I'm sure it would be a great help for those of us choosing.

I've heard M&A is the worst of the three, but I'd appreciate if anyone who could weigh in based on their experience.

Thanks!

(Also feel free to include anything specific about a practice area that others may not have considered even if its tangentially related)

WestOfTheRest

Silver

Re: Practicing Attnys: Lesser of Three Evils? Cap.Markets, M&A, or Banking?

Postby WestOfTheRest » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:14 am