If anyone is curious about the land business, I'm a landman

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

If anyone is curious about the land business, I'm a landman

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:39 pm

Hey all. I graduated law school in the employment desert that was 2011 and eventually landed a job as a landman. It pays decent and being an attorney is actually considered a bonus as opposed to being something that employers don't like. If anyone is interested, I'm fine answering questions that won't out me.

micwrecka45

Re: If anyone is curious about the land business, I'm a landman

Postby micwrecka45 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:51 pm

What is a landman? What do you typically do day-to-day?

kwais

Postby kwais » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:59 pm

Do you expect that people know what "landman" is? And if not, why use it without explanation? Know your audience.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:00 pm

kwais wrote:Do you expect that people know what "landman" is? And if not, why use it without explanation? Know your audience.

You could have just asked what one is instead of being pompous. I guess I should know my audience.

northwood

Postby northwood » Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:01 pm

so I take it you try to get people to sign leases so you can frack on their property? Or do you do something else? How does it work? do you need to be a licensed attorney, or just a law school graduate?

LeDique

Postby LeDique » Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:02 pm