What kind of jobs to apply for? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
amk110

New

What kind of jobs to apply for?

Post by amk110 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:41 pm

Greetings everyone:

First, please forgive me if I've posted this in the wrong forum. I'm a recent graduate who decided to postpone the bar exam for a semester (planning to take it this coming February) who is unemployed and struggling to find anyone that will hire me. I had assumed it would be relatively easy to secure some type of paralegal or legal assistant work, but am now learning that JDs are apparently blacklisted from these types of positions.

In fact, I'm finding that just about every conceivable job type I can think to apply for to pay the bills and support me while I study for the February bar has a similar policy. It seems most employers are assuming, and rightfully so, that I'll leave as soon as I get my license.

That said, I'm behind three months in my rent and can't afford to feed myself or keep the lights on. I've even put in applications at Target, Best Buy, McD's, and other similar sorts of minimum wage gigs, but haven't had any luck.

My career services office continues to encourage me to apply for legal assistant jobs, and for law clerk jobs typically reserved for current students. I've been doing so, also with no luck.

So now I'm here looking for advice. Can anyone think of a field that will employ an unlicensed law school graduate?

BarbellDreams

Gold

Re: What kind of jobs to apply for?