Terrible GPA, great internships, where can I end up? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
jdubb990

Bronze

Terrible GPA, great internships, where can I end up?

Post by jdubb990 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:34 pm

I recently graduated from a T3 school a semester early. I am currently studying for the bar, no job in hand yet. I graduated in the bottom 1/3 of my class. However, I've been pretty fortunate with my internships so my resume looks decent:

Lieutenant Governor's office (senior year of college)
DA's office (1L summer)
Clerked for one of the best first amendment lawyers in the U.S. (small firm, 2L school year)
Two general jurisdiction trial court judges in one of America's biggest cities (2L Summer)
State court of appeals Judge (3L fall semester)

I have no interest in doing personal injury or criminal law. Practically speaking, a bankruptcy practice seems ideal, but I'm not sure how much a new associate makes on average in that type of practice, any ideas? I wouldn't mind doing entertainment law/sports law, but it seems impractical. Working for a congressman in D.C. would be a dream job, but seeing as how I never interned in D.C., or at the federal level in any capacity, is this realistic to strive for?