IP law with a poli sci degree?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
karina

IP law with a poli sci degree?

Postby karina » Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:35 pm

I am majoring in Poli Sci at a top5 UG. I will be applying to law schools come this fall and I have some questions about IP law.

1. Based on the past threads, it seems like going into soft-IP does not require scientific or technical background but it is not a field that most of the IP firms deal with extensively and it is unrealistic to be looking for job opportunities in these fields. Is this true?

2. Also in the past threads, I saw many people disagreeing over whether having no technical background hurts you landing a job in patent litigation. Some say your school and grades can make up for your lack of background, and others say most of the IP firms will not even give you interviews unless you have a background. Which side is more accurate??

3. If I start taking some tech or science classes in my Senior year, would that help at all when I decide to go into IP law?

Just to make sure, I am looking specifically into patent litigation or soft-IP, NOT patent prosecution.

PARTY

Re: IP law with a poli sci degree?

Postby PARTY » Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:39 pm

from what i've gathered, you need some serious amount of science credits to be "ip secure."

you can at least do trademark law without that, though.

NinerFan

Postby NinerFan » Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:40 pm